Are You Going to TRUST or Are you Going to TRIP? You Can’t Do Both!

TrustorTripTBPinkFlwr

Trip: the state of acting whack; to overreact or to lose your cool.

Trust: firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something.

One day sitting at my desk at work, I had the thought: “It’s so much easier to trust than to trip.”

It’s easier on my spirit.  It’s easier on my soul to trust God, trust His Timing and trust His process.

Whenever I slip into “tripping”, then I run into problems.  Tripping is hard on my body.  I wreak all kinds of havoc my body when I choose to trip instead of trust.

I get that anxious pit feeling in my stomach.  I lose sleep.  I stress, overthink and worry.  Making the simple choice to literally take God at His word and simply CHOOSE to rest in Him in spite of what my reasoning mind, emotions and circumstances tell me is not easy, but it is doable.

Trusting God brings rest and revelation.

In returning and rest shall you be saved in quietness and confidence shall be your strength…but you would not…Isaiah 30:15

I love this scripture. When I choose to rest instead of fuss, fret and fume internally, I grow in confidence.  When I practice returning my thoughts to God – His goodness, His grace and His mercy, then I am able to be quiet within.   The scripture above states that in QUIETNESS and CONFIDENCE shall be my strength – not in stewing and brewing about my situation.  He also said in Psalm 46:10, Be still and know that I am God.  To know God and to receive His rest requires that we be still.

Receiving supernatural revelation on our issue also requires that we be still.  It calls for quietness of soul.  We are incapable of receiving true insight, revelation and understanding as long as our minds are overrun by wild, negative and frantic thinking.  It takes time to train our minds and our emotions to be still before God through prayer and meditation, but it is so critical if we are to learn how to trust instead of tripping.

Tripping, on the other hand, brings restlessness and regression. 

When I choose to trip instead of trust I am restless.  My mind is all over the place.  It’s hard to focus.  Instead of resting in God, it suddenly becomes easier to Google, to surf the net, scroll my Instagram and Facebook feeds or run the situation over and over again in my mind.  Whatever spiritual and emotional gains I have made previously during the times when I chose to trust, I now find that I have regressed and have to gain that ground all over again.

Trust brings Peace and Poise.

I’ve discovered that when I trust, I walk in greater levels of peace and poise.  I once read somewhere that “a peaceful mind is a powerful mind.”  I would add that a peaceful mind brings about poise.  Poise is the opposite of confusion and is marked by a calm, steadfast demeanor regardless of what the circumstances scream.  Poise is the ability to function under pressure when all hell breaks loose and to not lose your cool.  Poise is when I chose to follow wisdom and sound judgment instead of giving in to runaway emotions.    Peace and poise generate power and confidence without which, we will never attain the spiritual or emotional maturity required to walk in the blessings and grace that we so desperately desire and need.

Tripping invites powerlessness and pain.

When we chose to trip instead of trust, we invite powerlessness and pain into our lives.  A lot of our emotional pain is self-inflicted.  Even if other people hurt us, ultimately it is our response or reaction to their deed is what makes the difference in whether or not we walk in peace or power, powerlessness or pain.  It is the way we frame it and the story we tell ourselves in our heads about why they did what they did that creates the pain and the angst.  It is when we attempt to be God and read other people’s minds and motivations that we give away our own power.

We are created to trust.  We were not created to live in fear. Our bodies, our spirits our souls were created for love, trust, and freedom.  But when sin entered the world through Adam, fear and all the torment associated with it has since dominated humankind.

Where do you stand?   Are you going to trip or are you going to trust when everything falls apart?  Are you going to trip or are you going to trust when you don’t understand? Are you going to trip or are you going to trust God’s process when you are in a trial? Are you going to trip or are you going to trust when you make a mistake? Are you going to trip or are you going to trust when the consequences of the past unfold and the crazy thoughts hit your mind?  Remember that you can’t do both!  You can’t trust God, but still trip on the inside when things happen.  The only way to make it through times like this without losing your mind is a deliberate and intentional choice to trust God.

Are you going to trip or are you going to trust God today?

Be encouraged,

 

TB

 

Stay connected to my #GetRealBeHealed Movement by clicking here!  For a FREE audio on 3 Signs of a Toxic Relationship go to www.tonikabreeden.com and download today.  If you are struggling in a dead-end relationship, check out my book Get Out of that Dead-End Relationship NOW available on www.amazon.com in paperback and Kindle.

One thought on “Are You Going to TRUST or Are you Going to TRIP? You Can’t Do Both!

  1. Pingback: Tonika Breeden - Are You Going to TRUST or Are you Going to TRIP? You Can’t Do Both!

Leave a Reply

